Skip to content

Macarons

January 13, 2011

I’ve been toying with the idea of making my very own macarons for quite some time now, but the thought of having to separate egg whites from the yolks, and not knowing what to do with the yolks have been a major deterring factor. So what better time than now, when I have the luxury of channeling my inner Julia Child, and trying it out, when i have a container of 6 egg whites, thanks to my vanilla pastry cream for the crepes cake.

My first try? A complete disaster.

They didn’t look anything at all like the recipe I got here. I was fantasizing about how I was going to photograph them, and was all set to buy white flowers, just so they looked as fabulous as they were supposed to. But no. They looked like this.

What the hell are these? Some chewy lemon cookie instead? Granted, they were delish and had a very nutty texture, but they were definitely not macarons. Well at least they had feet!

It was back to more research online, and I read about this girl who repeated it about 8 to 9 times, before she got it right. And since macarons are notoriously difficult to make, there were HUNDREDS of sites giving helpful troubleshooting techniques. So I finally settled on this. I figured, since she’s a Daring Baker, she could very well be trusted. Plus, a couple of other sites were using this Italian technique, instead of the French one.

Yes! This took me a significantly longer amount of time, since I re-grinded my ground almond, and sifted the almond/icing sugar mixture, and still had to do the sugar syrup.

But so far, so good. They even spread the way they were supposed to spread after piping.


Yes they aren’t perfect circles. I was too lazy to draw out circle templates. If these turn out right, I promise I’ll do it the next time.

I even felt good enough to sprinkle some coloured sugar on one tray, just to see how they turn out.


After 1 hour of resting, into the oven these babies went.


15 minutes later, the moment of truth.

First tray: Cracked

2nd tray: Looks like cracked egg shells, yes?



Whatever. Out of 6 trays which I got, I only managed to salvage like maybe around 15 pieces of macarons. And they didn’t even have feet.

I emailed one of the bakers, and she said it’s quite possible that I didn’t whip the egg whites long enough.

Oh well, till next time then! Somebody try it out and tell me if they managed to do it, please? Thanks a million!

But they still photograph prettily 🙂


3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 1:22 pm

    I applaud you for trying out macarons! I’m still one of the many who prefer leaving them to the experts and purchasing them 😛 But yes, they photograph so well, and judging from your baking skills, I’m sure your next attempt will be more successful!

  2. dayah permalink*
    January 13, 2011 2:42 pm

    thanks sweets! if you ever try it out someday, I hope you get it right :))

  3. Sya permalink
    January 13, 2011 5:24 pm

    the first batch looks like my nutella sandwich cookies!! but anw, cant wait to try em!! 😛

Leave a Reply

