Skip to content

Rainbow cookies

September 8, 2010

There’s something about rainbows that make me really happy, and what better way to kick off the new semester of school with rainbow cookies? Yes I know that school started about 4 weeks ago, but the first 2 weeks were Business English and Technical English lessons, so they didn’t count. Now that the core technical modules have started, I need every reason to keep me smiling and happy.

I got inspired by Carly and her rainbow sugar cookies. They are really gorgeous, mind you!

For the first time in my life, my sugar cookies didn’t turn out stupid. Or soft. I had to double bake them, like biscotti, but they were totally worth it!

First I made the dough (which didn’t turn out sticky, and so I could colour them immediately! SCORE!)

The set of colourful dough

The first layer

All 4 layers, ready to be cling wrapped and chilled overnight

Cut into thin slices (about 3-4mm) and bake at 170C for about 10 mins

These were a little overdone (they tasted yummy though!), so I reduced baking time for the next batch.

And they turned out perfect! Loving the vibrant colours!

I’m going to try out with pastel colours next! Selamat Hari Raya, all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 9:43 am

    so pretty!!!!!!!! I WANT!!!*drooooooolss*

  2. dayah permalink*
    September 12, 2010 3:16 am

    come get it!

  3. tea permalink
    September 14, 2010 5:48 am

    were they part of the raya cookies? i didnt try! hazim would love this!!

  4. dayah permalink*
    September 14, 2010 1:59 pm

    yes they were!! they are so colourful, they make me happy 😛

  5. September 23, 2010 4:08 am

    Love rainbow bakes too! I’ve made rainbow cookies, but wasn’t too enamoured with the texture. Will give this recipe a go next 🙂

Leave a Reply

