Skip to content

Alice in Wonderland (part 3): Putting it all together

September 5, 2010

Friday morning: D Day! I woke up feeling all excited to get started on the project! After letting the fondant warm up to room temperature (don’t use microwave! Let it reach rtp naturally! Or it might get too soft and sticky, and then it’s back to square 1!), it was time to go!

From sketch..

3 hours of kneading, rolling and shaping later..

Let it firm up a bit over the countertop, while I baked red velvet cupcakes. I tried a new recipe here, since my trusty one from Hershey’s has been letting me down for the past couple of times.

In retrospect, I think I should have baked it first, before playing with fondant. It got a tad difficult to attach the fondant bits to the cupcakes because they were a bit stiff. Oh well. Lesson learnt for next time.

While waiting for cupcakes to cool, I made my checkerboard cake base. (Wendy’s idea to have this base!)

Covered the Mama cupcake too! And piped stars on the top! Oh wow, it looks like Gryffindor cupcake, on a race track!

After the cupcakes were cooled, and covered with fondant:

Assembly time!

While decorating the cupcakes, my hand brushed against a whole bottle of heart confetti, and the entire thing spilled. I was so tired, I just ignored them, thinking I would clean it up after I was done. But my sister, the ever Food Environmentalist, did this!

She.Ate.Them.Off.The.Floor! Hahahahah!

The 3 seconds rule does not apply to our household, I swear!

And don’t worry. I didn’t use anything off the floor for the decor. Or any part of the cakes!

The end products:

The ones on the left are extras. Which explains why Tweedledee looks all broken up. Haha. I’m so in love with the Tiffany &co green colour!!

Reminded me of this:

I just discovered it’s called Teal by the way, thanks to Wilton.

And the giant cake:

I was really pleased with the whole outcome! And obviously, so was Wendy! She was so happy and squealing and hugging me, and got really excited about showing it to her best friend. Hahahaha!

By the way, this whole thing was supposed to be part of her wedding present for her best friend, and they were doing Alice in Wonderland themed wedding photoshoot. HOW COOL IS THAT?!

Anyhoo!

So much for it being a surprise. She brought the cakes down, and showed the cupcakes to her best friend. Sounds like somebody I know.. Ehem, Sya? Hehehe!

I could hear them screaming ‘OMG SO CUTE!!’ downstairs. Hahaha. You guys are so funny! But the Mama Cupcake was still a surprise for the photoshoot right Wendy 😉 ?

So to Wendy’s best friend, congratulations on your big day!! I hope you guys had as much fun on your photoshoot as I did making the cakes!

And to Wendy, thanks for letting me have fun!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 2:29 pm

    Found your blog while googling for some biskut raya recipes, and I’m already loving it.

    You did an awesome job on this set! I personally like Tweedledee/Tweedledum 🙂 Coincidentally I’m currently looking out for fellow local Muslim cake-decorators/bakers, and I couldn’t find your mail contact, so I was bummed. Lucky thing though, I recognised your pic, and realised you’re one of my twitter followers! Haha, serendipitous much? So yerp, I’ve followed you in return.

    Selamat Hari Raya in advance!

  2. dayah permalink*
    September 7, 2010 4:13 pm

    Thanks babe! I’m a real big fan of your work, and not to mention, gorgeous photos! You’re my idol!!
    It’s a sign that you found me :)) Haha.

    Selamat Hari Raya to you too! Hope your raya preparation have been great and awesome!

  3. Sya permalink
    September 11, 2010 1:57 am

    btw, my sister said she prefers the previous red velvet cakes.. im guessing that’s the hersheys one which let you down? apparently it didnt!

  4. dayah permalink*
    September 11, 2010 3:50 pm

    Yah man.. I prefer the previous one. I think I might try this recipe another time, with a little tweaking, and see how it goes. I find this one fluffier!

  5. tea permalink
    September 14, 2010 5:50 am

    wat can i say, again? AWESOME!!! I DO DO MISS BAKING AND EXPERIMENTING!!

    with a 3 year old in tow, it’s near impossible to sit down and focus on decorating and baking unless if i take leave…and park him at my in-laws still..hehe..maybe i should do tt.

  6. dayah permalink*
    September 16, 2010 11:27 pm

    yeap! try this!! nanti hazim dah besar, both of us can join hands!

  7. hafie permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:16 am

    HOW have I never seen this??!! It’s so pretty!! How come you never make for us pretty things??!! HAHAHAHA

  8. cailing permalink
    October 19, 2010 11:20 am

    hey! i was wondering how long you let the cake cook and if there were any changes to the recipe? because I’m intending to make the cupcake tomorrow for my aunt’s bday on sat and i am not very sure if I should stick to my normal cupcake recipe 🙂 do lemme know thanks! very nice alice in wonderland cakes/cupcakes btw 🙂

  9. dayah permalink*
    October 19, 2010 3:12 pm

    Thanks cailing! Which recipe are you talking about? The small cupcakes, or the GIANT one? For the small one, you could just use any regular cupcake recipe, but for the GIANT one, I actually used a cake recipe from allrecipes.com. I think I posted the link. Only thing I changed was from plain flour to cake flour. Apparently it makes the cake lighter.

    All the best for ur baking sessions 🙂

  10. Nur permalink
    November 20, 2010 2:38 pm

    Hi! someone recommended you to me! how much are basic chocolate with icing cupcakes? oh, 55 cupcakes i mean? where do you live? do i pick them up myself and do you do deliveries? thanks!

  11. dayah permalink
    November 21, 2010 4:15 pm

    Hi Nur,

    I’m not too sure if I got the correct email add, but I’ve mailed ya the quotations. Tell me if you didn’t receive it aites?

Leave a Reply

