Skip to content

Alice in Wonderland (Part 1): Lemon Cake

September 5, 2010

A couple of weeks ago, Wendy emailed me asking if I could bake Alice in Wonderland cupcakes for her best friend’s wedding photoshoot. We started bouncing ideas off each other and sending pictures, and finally settled on Lemon giant cupcake with lemon buttercream, and red velvet cupcakes.

I got really excited to get started on the project! It’s my first time of working extensively with fondant, and gave me an excuse to get the giant cupcake pan. You have no idea how long I’ve had my eyes on the Wilton mold. So thanks Wendy! You rock!!

And the set of 12 icing colours by Wilton. And gold lustre paint.

Plus, the cake leveler.

And all sorts of jimmies and cupcake decor stuff which had nothing to do with this project. Hehehe.

Anyway, I found a lemon cake recipe on allrecipes.com, but after reading the reviews, I decided to use cake flour, instead of all purpose flour.

Here’s the finished product:

Let it cool for about 10 mins, then turn it over a flat surface..

Let it cool over a wire rack, and then use my brand new cake leveler to even out the top surface..

I cut another layer at the base. Then layered and covered everything with lemon buttercream, and set aside for the next step. Fondant magic time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

