Skip to content

Meringue fruit basket

February 7, 2010

I have to admit, I’m a dessert monster. If I could choose 1 meal for the rest of my life, it would be desserts, desserts and more desserts. My heart literally skips a beat, or two, whenever I think about desserts. I love looking through cookbooks and zooming straight to the dessert section. Guess what happens when I see the dessert table at a buffet? My.heart.grows.wings! Move away main courses, HELLO desserts!

I’ve rambled enough. I heard that it’s better to eat sugar, than to eat a cookie (because of butter = FAT!), so here goes. Fat free dessert.

Custard filling

Ingredients:

60g custard powder

500ml skim milk

70g castor sugar

Directions:

1. Pour milk into a saucepan.

2. Dissolve custard powder until no lumps are formed. Add sugar and stir custard continuously over slow fier until it starts to form lumps. Let cool and chill in fridge (cover with cling wrap so that skin is not formed)

Meringue basket

Ingredients

2 egg white

1/2 cup castor sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla essence

Directions

1. Beat egg white until soft peaks are formed.

2. Add castor sugar and beat until stiff, and glossy.

3. Beat in vanilla essence.

4. Transfer to a piping bag. Using a star tip nozzle, pipe 3 inch discs, and then pipe outside disc to make basket.

5. Bake at 100 C for 45mins to 1 hour.

To assemble:

1. Let meringue baskets cool. Spoon chilled custard into basket, and top off with fresh fruits.

Serves 6.

Taste test: YUMMY!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Faezah permalink
    February 15, 2012 4:56 pm

    Pavlova..thats what its called, inspired by a Russian ballerina if I’m not wrong šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

