Skip to content

Stained glass cookies

May 3, 2009

I wanted to try something different to give the people in my FYP lab, but I think cookies aren’t my forte. I’ve never really been satisfied with my cookies (they are either too thin, or too flat, or too soft or too tasteless or too sweet, well, you get my drift). The first time I tried out sugar cookies was last year, when I baked the disgusting tasting “XOXO” cookies. They smelt gross, they looked kinda yucky, and had a weird texture. Bleah.

So this time I tried to bake something which had raving reviews. Blah de blah. I blame it on Singapore’s ultra hot and humid weather. 2000+ reviewers couldn’t have been wrong about the cookie batter. Somebody said to add additional 1 cup of flour to account for the humid weather, but I had to add 2 cups because the batter was far too sticky (even after I left it in the fridge overnight) and 2 cups of powdered sugar.

I got the recipe here, but I’m still on the quest of finding the perfect sugar cookie recipe.

MY verdict on this recipe:

1) Too sticky

2) Better to roll out thin cookies, so they turn out crispy. The thicker ones looked weird, like a little bit bloated, and went out of shape very easily.

3) Tastes much better than my XOXO cookies.

4) They became soft cookies. As usual.

PS: I used FOX sweets for the stained glass.

I’ll stick to drop cookies. Cut out cookies are tedious!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. liana permalink
    May 4, 2009 5:04 am

    oh my gawd I feel so dinosaur! I didn’t know you have this blog!

  2. tea permalink
    May 5, 2009 2:48 pm

    but the cookies look so lovely still!ure super rajin and so sweet too..

    i miss baking..if u give me just 1 day, i’ll just park myself in the kitchen and wont do anything else…hehe

  3. dayah permalink*
    May 5, 2009 3:02 pm

    thanks! and i missed baking too.. and im still baking up a storm for my farewell gift part 2!

Leave a Reply

