Skip to content

Crustless Cranberry Pie

January 3, 2009

Thanks to Ned the Pie Maker from Pushing Daisies, I’ve been dreaming of baking a pie, just like those from the Pie Hole. Oh gosh. Have you guys seen the pies? They look absolutely gorgeous.

I want a Ned too. He’s so adorably awkward! But that would I would have to be murdered and he would have to bring me back from the dead, and that we would never be able to touch each other. Not even accidentally. Which is quite sad.

And don’t you think the Pie Hole has a really whimsical outlook? Come on. A pie crust as the roof? Totally mag!

So I told myself that someday I’ll be able to bake something like those from the Pie Hole, and I can’t think of a better way to kick start the new year with a new year resolution.

I shall bake new things, other than cupcakes.

Cupcakes get boring after a while. NOT! Okay I get bored of baking cupcakes. But I’ve digressed enough.

I found a whole packet of frozen cranberries in the freezer, and decided to be Rachel Ray (no Martha Stewart, just because RR wears better clothes, and Nigella Lawson is wayy too gorgeous for me to even reach there :)) and googled for cranberry pie recipes. And found this!

I decided to try it since there were 92423087 raves about this and the pictures looked delicious enough to be licked off the screen. Haha.

So.. presenting my version of the pie:

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup castor sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups frozen cranberries
1/2 cup chopped almonds
1/2 cup melted butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 175C. Grease one 9.5 inch pie pan.
2. Combine the flour, sugar and salt. Stir in cranberries and almonds, and toss to coat.


3. Mix butter, beaten eggs and vanilla extract. Stir this mixture into flour mixture.


4. Spread batter into prepared pan.

5. Bake for about 40 mins, or until wooden pick inserted near the centre comes out clean. Serve warm with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Or refrigerate overnight and serve the next day. Apparently this would steep all the flavour and taste better!

I don’t really like how the colour turned out, but this is as good as it gets from a handphone camera!

Serves 8.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

