Skip to content

Red Velvet Cupcakes

December 11, 2008
tags:

I’ve yet to make a dent in my trustworthy book of 500 cupcakes recipe and I’m already bored. Give me a new cupcake book already!!

Anyway I baked this as birthday surprise for my dear friend Sya, who pesters me at least once a year to bake Red Velvet Cupcakes..

For those of you who don’t know what’s a Red Velvet Cupcake, where in the world have you been?? It’s basically a chocolate cake with red food colouring, and very soft and airy.. Oh! It has a cream cheese frosting, so it’s not overly sweet or anything. The perfect balance!

I got the cake recipe from here

And I can’t remember where I got the cream cheese frosting recipe from, but I mostly just taste test it, according to my liking.You can always try this one.

Cream cheese frosting*:

1 tub Philidelphia cream cheese (straight out of the fridge)
125g butter (softened)
1 tsp vanilla
Sifted icing sugar

Beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla until combined. Gradually add sifted icing sugar, until it reaches the consistency and sweetness that you want.

Spread it over the cupcakes, and decorate with whatever you want! I used silver and pink balls for the butterfly, and Hershey’s mini chips for the letters.

*My cream cheese frosting usually doesn’t hold its shape very well, because I don’t add that much sugar (so it’s less sweet, and has that sour-ish cheesy taste), so it’s more fluid and easily spread. But the frosting hardens overnight though, which is great!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sleepynstress permalink
    December 20, 2008 3:43 am

    babee! it looks so good. btw wads the cake recipe ah. it was linked with this entry:)

    -Syikin

  2. dayah permalink*
    December 20, 2008 5:58 am

    Link updated!! I didn’t realise I linked the picture instead of the recipe.. kental..haha

  3. Sya permalink
    January 1, 2009 6:03 am

    yumm… eh guess what, i finally finished it!! took the last bite yesterday! 🙂 looks like i have to wait about 10 more months before another round of red velvet cupcakes

Trackbacks

  1. Red velvet, revisited « An exquisite extreme unknown

Leave a Reply

